royl
帖子: 1770
注册时间: 周一 12月 14, 2009 9:10 pm

二十笔实用成语 455

帖子 royl » 周一 8月 26, 2013 2:56 pm

二十笔实用成语 455

01. get/have a bash at, to
定义: 试图做某事, 尝试一件新活动.
例句: I've never done it before, but I'll have a bash at it. (我以前从来没做过它, 但我愿意尝试一下)

02. get/have a go at, to
定义: 拼拼看, 尝试, 试试看.
例句: Let Sally have a go at it. (让莎莉来试试看)

03. get/have an angle, to
定义: 使用诡计, 怀有私心或不可告人的理由或特殊目的; 有效的阻挡; 取得优势.
例句: I don't have an angle. I bring in donuts to work every once in a while, yeah they cost a few bucks, but I like doing it. (我没什么特殊目的. 我三不五时带些甜甜圈来办公室, 没错它们是要花几块钱, 但我喜欢这样做)

04. get/have an eyeful, to
定义: 尽收眼底, 美不胜收, 大饱眼福; 充满了令人惊讶场面.
例句: Tom got an eyeful on the beach when a woman took her top off right in front of him. (当一名女子在他面前脱掉她的比基尼胸罩, 汤姆在这个海滩大饱眼福)

05. get/have an in with, to
定义: 趋炎附势, 与某权势者有交情.
例句: The person has an in with the person who is doing the hiring. They've always said, "It's not what you know, but who you know." (此人跟负责雇用的人有交情. 这就是为什么人们常说, "有本事还不如认对人.")

06. get/have someone covered, to
定义: 保护某人; 掩护某人; 替某人代工当他因事离开; 供应并满足某人所需, 某人之某物不足由你补足.
例句: Don't worry about the money. We've got you covered. (别担心钱. 我们已经把它付清了)

07. get/keep/stay on someone's right side, to
定义: 取得某人的好感或赏识.
例句: Jane had a hard time staying on the right side of her difficult supervisor. (珍费了不少劲才取得了她刁钻古怪上司的好感)

08. get/make an early start, to
定义: 大清早开工, 早点开始/行动.
例句: Today I'm going to take a new route to work and I want to get an early start. (今天我要走一条新路线上班, 我想要早点开工)

09. get/put bums on seats, to
定义: [英国]吸引大量观众观赏表演或比赛. (注: 在此以幽默口吻说出将越多的观众的bums屁股放在席位上)
例句: Until you are well enough known to put bums on seats, you'll have to audition for every acting job you do. (除非你成为吸引大量观众的知名演员, 否则你将必须面试你每一个要找的表演工作)

10. get/put one's life back together, to
定义: 回归正常生活. (注: 意指经历过创伤或失去亲人之后渐渐回复正常生活)
例句: Tina tries to put her life back together after the tragic loss of her young daughter. (在惨痛地丧失了她年幼女儿之后, 蒂娜试图回复她的正常生活)

11. get/put/stick one's oar in, to
定义: 多管闲事, 干预某事或加入自己的意见.